(Not So) Unusual Find

While I was working today, I found something pretty amazing tucked away in a shelf in a corner by the door:

20160709_132740

It was an education copy of the mighty WordPerfect 5.2! WordPerfect used to be a standard in the word processing market, until Word took over in the mid 90’s. This version is for Windows 3.1, I believe.

20160709_132448.jpg

It came with a whopping six floppy disks! The first four are just for the program itself, while there are two extra disks for Grammatik, which is a program that is supposed to improve your writing, I believe, and ExpressDocs, which according to a quick Google search, is just document templates. In addition, there was tons of literature, along with a smattering of advertisement flyers:

20160709_132653.jpg

The thick tome on the right is the reference guide, which seems to have everything you would want to know about the program. The thinner book to the left is a workbook which has exercises meant to teach the user how to use the program. I miss stuff like this, to be honest; it’s great to have everything at your fingertips with the Internet and all, but I remember when you always got sizable tangible stuff with your programs.

20160709_132554.jpg

And here’s all the other documents that came with the program. Included are not only those ads I mentioned earlier, but also small guides to using ExpressDocs and Grammatik.

I love seeing stuff like this “in the wild.” I only wish I could see more of this at thrift stores where I could actually buy it and take it home.

One thought on “(Not So) Unusual Find

Leave a Reply

